Let’s Talk New York’s “Low Blow” Rule

Tonight Terence Crawford defeated Amir Khan.  The bout ended after Khan could not continue following a low blow.  The shot was ruled accidental and Crawford was declared the winner via TKO.

So can you win a bout after hitting an opponent with a low blow?  The answer, in some jurisdictions, is yes.  New York, where this bout occurred, is one such jurisdiction.  New York has regulation on the books that a fighter must wear a ‘foul proof’ groin protector.  The idea is that groin protectors exist that are so flawless that no fighter can actually be stopped via low blow.  I doubt there is much scientific literature backing this idea.  In any event New York has the following applicable regulations fighters should be aware of before competing in the Empire State:

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s