Yes I actually wrote that headline. I guess this is what I’m doing with my law degree now…
Let’s get in to it.
Earlier this year the Association of Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports voted to update the Unified Rules of MMA. The 12-6 elbow was removed as a foul.
In an unexpected turn of events one of the very first uses of the new technique came at a UFC event where Gillian Robertson struck Luana Pinheiro in the anus with the 12-6 elbow.
The technique apparently did some damage with Pinheiro releasing this video weeks later saying she is still dealing with some repercussions from the strike.
While the 12-6 elbow is now legal under the unified rules there are still illegal targets for all strikes such as the back of the head, the spine and the groin. But what about the anus? Is this a legal target?
I asked John McCarthy, a man who not only helped draft the original Unified Rules, but has been part of every revision including the latest, whether this was a legal technique. He provided the following helpful feedback:
If the referee said that the fighter targeted the tailbone, that is part of the spine and would be considered a foul. The spine is protected from the occipital junction with the skull all the way down to the end being the tailbone.
When you say anus, it’s not part of the tailbone although it is close in proximity as is the groin
So there you have it. It may be legal. But the margin for error is slim as a foul for a strike to the spine or groin is not far away. And, as I read John’s comment, there will be referee discretion as to whether the strike is targeting the tailbone (spine). So proceed with caution.

I love Gillian but after listening to Luana I may have to change my opinion.